Auto Insurance Not Paying Out After Hit and Run Accident?
Few things make you lose faith in the inherent goodness of human beings more than being the victim of a hit and run accident. Car accidents happen, so getting hit by another car is totally understandable, but it is basic human decency to exchange your information with the other individual so insurance companies can determine who was at fault. If you are a victim of a hit and run accident, at least you can count on your insurance company to come through and cover the damages, right? You would be surprised.
Minimum Liability Insurance Does Not Cover Hit and Run
California law only requires that drivers purchase liability insurance with coverage up to $15,000 for injury or death for one person, $30,00 for over one people, and $5,000 for property damage. This is only applicable to the other driver, so if you are the victim of a hit and run accident minimum liability insurance will be unable to help you. That means that, unless you have medical payments coverage and/or uninsured motorist coverage, the only way to get the medical attention or vehicle repair you need will have to be out of pocket.
Unidentified Drivers Treated as Uninsured Motorists
If you only have liability insurance, the driver is not covered if struck by an uninsured driver. That means that if you get in an accident with a driver that does not have insurance, you have to pay out of pocket for all medical and repair expenses. In California, a driver that flees the scene is treated as an uninsured motorist, making the victim responsible for all expenses.
File a Civil Lawsuit if the Driver is Identifiable
If by any chance you are able to identify the driver of the vehicle that hit you in a hit and run accident, you may be able to file a civil lawsuit against the driver. You can sue the driver at fault for damages, or their insurance company if they have insurance. However, in many cases, a driver will flee the scene of an accident precisely because they do not have automobile insurance. By suing, the victim may be able to recover their out of pocket expenses for pain and suffering.
Contact Bates Law if Insurance Did Not Cover a Hit and Run Accident in San Diego
If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, you are explicitly not at fault. It should not be up to you to cover damages if you were struck by another irresponsible driver who decides to flee the scene. Bates Law, APC is the San Diego experts when it comes to car accident law and personal injury lawsuits, and we have the experience and knowledge needed to get you the compensation you deserve. If you are interested in learning more or scheduling a consultation, give us a call at (619) 222-0900